05 Oct 2023
New Victorian Government Cabinet Brief – October 2023
New Victorian Government Cabinet Brief – October 2023

Deputy Premier Jacinta Allan has been elected unopposed to succeed Premier Daniel Andrews following the shock resignation after more than eight years in power.

New Victorian Government Cabinet Brief – October 2023

Deputy Premier Jacinta Allan has been elected unopposed to succeed Premier Daniel Andrews following the shock resignation after more than eight years in power.

Premier Allan announced the full ministry which has several changes and announced her goal was to address a housing shortage by delivering on the government’s target of delivering 800,000 new homes over the next decade.

The changes are relatively modest and the view is that the new Premier will focus on bedding down the challenges her predecessor left behind without radically altering the machinery of government.

Ben Carroll was elected Deputy Premier after serving as an MP since 2012. He has previously held the portfolios of Public Transport, Manufacturing Sovereignty, Employment, and Industry and Innovation, and will now hold Education and Minister for Medical Research.

Carroll is from Labor’s Right faction and appears to be a winner by assuming the Deputy Premiership. It is understood that much of the reform in the education sector that he has inherited has been completed, however, so he may have time on his hands.

Tim Pallas remains Treasurer and Minister for Industrial Relations with the portfolio of Trade and Investment (renamed Economic Growth) and will maintain his focus on securing investment opportunities for the state.

One of the big winners, Assistant Treasurer Danny Pearson, adds the new Premier’s former portfolios of transport infrastructure and the suburban rail loop to his responsibilities.

The Press Gallery claimed this was a surprise, given Pearson’s fall-out from not declaring a possible conflict of interest from owning Commonwealth Bank shares when he announced the bank had won a multimillion-dollar contract.

Attorney General, Minister for Emergency Services and Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council, Jaclyn Symes, retains her portfolios. She will ensure that regional representation remains within the leadership team as she lives in Mildura and represents towns like Daylesford, Bendigo and Wangaratta.

The Allan government has also opted for stability in its energy transition program with Lily D’Ambrosio remaining Minister for Climate Action, Minister for Energy and Resources and Minister for the State Energy Commission. The $1 billion re-establishment of State Energy Commission was one of the key election policies from the government at last year’s election and is focused on investing in renewable energy and storage projects.

Also retaining their portfolios are Police Minister Anthony Carbines and Corrections Minister Enver Erdogan.

Below you can see the full list of Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries:

First Allan Ministry 

  • Jacinta Allan -Premier
  • Ben Carroll – Deputy Premier, Minister for Education, Minister for Medical Research
  • Jaclyn Symes – Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council, Attorney-General, Minister for Emergency Services
  • Tim Pallas – Treasurer, Minister for Industrial Relations, Minister for Economic Growth
  • Lizzie Blandthorn – Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council, Minister for Children, Minister for Disability
  • Colin Brooks – Minister for Development Victoria, Minister for Precincts, Minister for Creative Industries
  • Anthony Carbines – Minister for Police, Minister for Crime Prevention, Minister for Racing
  • Lily D’Ambrosio – Minister for Climate Action, Minister for Energy and Resources, Minister for the State Electricity Commission
  • Steve Dimopoulos – Minister for Environment, Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events, Minister for Outdoor Recreation
  • Enver Erdogan – Minister for Corrections, Minister for Youth Justice, Minister for Victim Support
  • Melissa Horne – Minister for Casino, Gaming and Liquor Regulation, Minister for Local Government, Minister for Ports and Freight, Minister for Roads and Road Safety
  • Natalie Hutchins – Minister for Jobs and Industry, Minister for Treaty and First Peoples, Minister for Women
  • Sonya Kilkenny – Minister for Planning, Minister for the Suburbs
  • Danny Pearson – Minister for Transport Infrastructure, Minister for the Suburban Rail Loop, Assistant Treasurer, Minister for WorkSafe and TAC
  • Harriet Shing – Minister for Housing, Minister for Water, Minister for Equality
  • Ros Spence – Minister for Agriculture, Minister for Community Sport, Minister for Carers and Volunteers
  • Ingrid Stitt – Minister for Mental Health, Minister for Ageing, Minister for Multicultural Affairs
  • Natalie Suleyman – Minister for Veterans, Minister for Small Business, Minister for Youth
  • Mary-Anne Thomas – Leader of the House, Minister for Health, Minister for Health Infrastructure, Minister for Ambulance Services
  • Gayle Tierney – Minister for Skills and TAFE, Minister for Regional Development
  • Vicki Ward – Minister for Prevention of Family Violence, Minister for Employment
  • Gabrielle Williams – Minister for Government Services, Minister for Consumer Affairs, Minister for Public and Active Transport
  • Steve Mcghie – Cabinet Secretary 


    Parliamentary Secretaries


  • Nick Staikos – Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier, Parliamentary Secretary for Multicultural Affairs
  • Josh Bull – Parliamentary Secretary for Level Crossing Removals, Parliamentary Secretary for Transport
  • Darren Cheeseman – Parliamentary Secretary for Education
  • Christine Couzens – Parliamentary Secretary for First Peoples
  • Paul Edbrooke – Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer
  • Bronwyn Halfpenny – Parliamentary Secretary for Jobs
  • Katie Hall – Parliamentary Secretary for Housing, Parliamentary Secretary for Creative Industries
  • Nathan Lambert – Parliamentary Secretary for Children
  • Tim Richardson – Parliamentary Secretary for Health Infrastructure, Parliamentary Secretary for Mental Health and Suicide Prevention
  • Michaela Settle – Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Development, Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture
  • Nina Taylor – Parliamentary Secretary for Justice
  • Kat Theophanous – Parliamentary Secretary for Women’s Health
  • Paul Hamer – Parliamentary Secretary for Economic Development
  • Sheena Watt – Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Action
  • Ivan Walters – Parliamentary Secretary for Disability